Finding cheap car insurance in New Mexico is important for budget-strapped consumers in the state. Most drivers within the Land of Enchantment pay more than $1,000 a year for auto insurance, which understandably can put a financial strain on many drivers. State laws require drivers to have a minimum amount of bodily harm and property injury protection before they can register their vehicles.
New Mexico drivers should obtain auto insurance coverage of at least $10,000 per accident for property damage due to driver negligence. Drivers must also purchase bodily injury coverage of at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 for more than one person in an accident.
For most drivers, these minimum requirements are simply not enough. Drivers can get extra coverage for safety and greater peace of mind. Also, if a car is financed, lenders may just require further protection to protect their loans. For many consumers, it’s not just the price but also the quality of coverage that matter.
In New Mexico, the Motor Vehicle Department (MVD) has an extensive database that can find when a vehicle is uninsured or underinsured, and will then contact the owner to remedy the problem. Those who drive uninsured risk having their vehicle registration suspended. Drivers of uninsured vehicles may be asked to return their registration and license plate to the MVD, and failure to do so in a timely manner may result in criminal penalties. Those who have been found to have an uninsured vehicle may have their registration reinstated once they are able to show proof of being insured. The fee for reinstatement of registration is $30.
One of the simplest ways to find cheap car insurance is to shop online and compares quotes from reputable websites such as AutoInsuranceWorld.net. This allows you to accurately assess the marketplace and screen out companies you may be unfamiliar with or that may have a questionable background. Start your search today for affordable car insurance at the top of this page.