Missouri, like most, states, requires car insurance. The minimum requirements in the state are $25,000 in coverage for bodily injury per person per accident, $50,000 in coverage for bodily injury for more than one person per accident, and $10,000 for property damage in an accident. Missouri also requires uninsured motorist coverage, given that some drivers are bound to disobey the laws by driving without insurance.
Though these are the minimums required in the Show Me State, some drivers may need additional coverage, such as if a lender requires it in order to issue a car loan. Lenders often require this to protect their interests in case the car gets totaled or severely damaged, thus lessening the risk of a loan default. Additionally, some drivers may want extra coverage for the peace of mind it provides.
Proof of insurance is also a requirement for drivers in Missouri. You must show this proof when registering a vehicle, renewing a license plate, or if stopped by a police officer or trooper. Those who are unable to show proof of insurance during a traffic stop may be issued a citation. Those who drive uninsured may also face 4 points on their driving record and potentially a suspension of their driver license.
As in other states, many factors will affect how much you’ll pay in premiums. Among the most important factors are: age, gender, driving history, make and model of vehicle, credit history, and deductible. Generally, the higher the deductible of your coverage, the lower your premiums will be. However, you must be careful not to select a deductible that you cannot pay if you are to get into an accident, given that accidents are very common and can happen when you least expect it.
One way to reduce your car insurance premiums is to compare quotes online among reputable websites such as AutoInsuranceWorld.net. So start your search today and get your free quote for cheap car insurance at the top of this page!