Mississippians are fortunate to have car insurance rates slightly below the national average, at $1,277 for 2016 according to Insure.com. However, paying for these premiums can still pose a challenge for many drivers in the Magnolia State who struggle to make ends meet. If you reside in Mississippi, it is essential to make an effort to seek out cheap coverage by comparing rates at reputable websites such as AutoInsuranceWorld.net.
Mississippi law requires you to carry no less than $25,000 in coverage per person for bodily injury per accident, $50,000 in coverage for more than one person for bodily injury per accident, and $25,000 in coverage for property damage per accident. When reviewing your quote, you may even see the numbers 25/50/25, which represent the minimum amount of coverage allowed in the state.
Of course, you can select better coverage if you need it. The minimum requirements are not sufficient for many people. Often, lenders will require extra coverage before issuing a car loan. There is no perfect or ideal policy for everyone. The key to getting the right policy is finding the coverage you need for the best price.
In the state of Mississippi, if you are convicted of driving without insurance, you may face a $1,000 fine and a driver’s license suspension of one year. However, if you obtain insurance after you are cited for not having it, these penalties can be reduced and you may be allowed to drive.
You must also show proof of insurance if you are stopped by police while driving. Not carrying this proof may result in a citation and fine, though this can be removed if you prove you had insurance during the stop.
Having read this overview of the requirements in the state, you are now armed with the knowledge you need to begin your search for auto insurance. You can find cheap car insurance today by getting your free quote at the top of this page!